At the Dubai International Airport.


UAE announces new entry rules for 5-year visa holders, chartered flights


DUBAI – The UAE’s General Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) has announced new rules for exempted passengers and travelers on chartered flights from restricted countries.

Under the new rules, holders of 5-year UAE visas are now allowed to enter the UAE on flights from countries where the GCAA has imposed entry restrictions.

Previously, only holders of the 10-year golden visa were exempted from travel restrictions. Emiratis and diplomts continue to be exempted from the ban. Cargo flights remain unaffected.

Countries where the UAE has imposed an entry ban include India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Democratic Republic of Congo, Nepal, Nigeria, Uganda, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Vietnam and Zambia.

Passengers who are exempted from the travel ban may enter the UAE but must wear tracking devices for at least 10 days, the GCAA said in a circular.

Passengers must also take a PCR test on arrival and undergo a mandatory 10-day quarantine, plus additional PCR tests on their fourth and eighth day in the UAE.

“The current development on the Covid-19 pandemic leads the UAE to impose new flight and passengers’ restrictions. The UAE government is closely monitoring the situation and will provide further updates and instructions as necessary,” according to the GCAA circular.

The National Emergency Crisis and Disasters Management Authority also announced that it must be notified at least five days before any chartered flight is scheduled.

Meanwhile, a UAE passenger entry ban from Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka has been extended until at least July 7. Passenger flights from India to UAE remain suspended until July 6. ICA/Expat Media

For all the latest news from the UAE and the world, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram and subscribe to our YouTube page


ADVERTISE HERE Find or post new jobs, motor ads and classifieds

Explore Expat Media