Image

Picture for illustration purposes only.

PHOTO BY ARCHIVE


New WhatsApp policy could have your account deactivated by February 8

 

DUBAI – WhatsApp recently announced major changes to its privacy, including one that could potentially have users’ accounts deactivated if they don’t comply.

WhatsApp’s new privacy policy asks users to share their personal information with Facebook, or have their accounts deactivated.

An in-app alert will direct users to agree to the new conditions. For now, users can opt to ignore the alert, but it will cost them their account after February 8.

“After this date, you’ll need to accept these updates to continue using WhatsApp,” the alert reads. Users can visit the app’s Help Centre if they prefer to have their accounts deleted, it added.

According to WhatsApp, user information will be shared with Facebook for various purposes. This information is likely to include phone numbers, mobile device information, IP addresses, names and profile photos.

“As part of the Facebook family of companies, WhatsApp receives information from, and shares information with, this family of companies,” the policy reads.

“We may use the information we receive from them, and they may use the information we share with them, to help operate, provide, improve, understand, customise, support and market our services and their offerings,” according to WhatsApp. ICA/Expat Media


For all the latest news from the UAE and the world, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram and subscribe to our YouTube page

Share


ADVERTISE HERE Find or post new jobs, motor ads and classifieds

Explore Expat Media