At the Dubai International Airport.


No ICA approval for Dubai-bound travelers from Indonesia as country is removed from restricted list


DUBAI – Dubai has trimmed its list of restricted countries, with Indonesia the latest country to be removed from the list.

This means that UAE residents traveling from Indonesia will no longer need approval from General Directorate of Residency and Foreigners Affairs (GDRFA) or the Federal Authority for Identity and Citizenship (ICA) to travel to Dubai.

According to an Emirates airline update, only travelers from Bangladesh, India, Nigeria, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Uganda, Ethiopia, Vietnam and Zambia will require prior travel approval.

UAE expats from these countries will need to get approval from the GDRFA and ICA before flying to Dubai and present a negative PCR test result with a QR code issued within 48 hours.

The requirement does not apply to those with newly issued residence or employment visa, visit visa, visa on arrival or short-term visa.

However, they need to undergo a rapid PCR test at the airport within six hours of departure and show a negative test report with a QR code.

Passengers travelling from countries not on the restricted list must have a negative Covid-19 RT-PCR test certificate for a test taken no more than 72 hours before departure.

Passengers travelling to Dubai as their final destination from Bangladesh, Nigeria, Vietnam and Zambia will not be accepted for travel without completing Covid-19 testing requirements.

Emiratis returning to Dubai are exempted, but must take a PCR test on arrival at the airport. Exemptions also apply to companions of Emiratis, their household workers, children below the age of 12 and those with moderate to severe disabilities. ICA/Expat Media

For all the latest news from the UAE and the world, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram and subscribe to our YouTube page


ADVERTISE HERE Find or post new jobs, motor ads and classifieds

Explore Expat Media