Image

Novak Djokovic reacts after hitting a line umpire with a ball.

PHOTO BY US OPEN


Djokovic disqualified from US Open after hitting official

 

NEW YORK – World Number 1 Novak Djokovic lost his bid for the US Open after he was disqualified on Sunday for hitting a line umpire with a ball.

Djokovic is the third player in Grand Slam history to be disqualified from a men’s singles tournament, after John McEnroe in 1990 and Stefan Koubek in 2000.

The Serb went 5-6 down in the first set to Pablo Carreno Busta from Spain when he hit the ball in the direction of a female line official.

The ball hit her in the throat. Djokovic rushed to check that she was okay. She was able to get up and walk off court a few minutes after the incident.

After a ten-minute discussion with the tournament referee, the umpire declared Carreno Busta as winner by default.

Djokovic released a statement on his Instagram page, apologizing to the line umpire, saying: “This whole situation has left me really sad and empty. I checked on the lines person and the tournament told me thank God she is feeling ok.”

Djokovic had hoped to close his gap with Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal for the singles title record, with Djokovic holding 17, Nadal with 19 and Federer with 20. ICA/Expat Media


For all the latest news from the UAE and the world, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram and subscribe to our YouTube page

Share


ADVERTISE HERE Find or post new jobs, motor ads and classifieds

Explore Expat Media