At the Ninoy Aquino International Airport.


Travel ban for Filipino tourist visa, visit visa holders heading to UAE, Saudi Arabia


DUBAI – Filipinos heading to the UAE and other GCC countries on tourist visa or visit visa will not be allowed to leave the Philippines under a new travel ban in the country amid the coronavirus pandemic.

In its advisory on Sunday (June 21), the Philippine Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) published an updated list of travel restrictions for Filipinos heading to the Middle East, Europe and Asia.

For travellers to the Middle East, the DFA said Filipinos will not be allowed to travel to the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Kuwait, Qatar and Bahrain unless they have a permit to work there or a residency permit. These countries are marked X3 in the list.

The new rule means that those on tourist visa or visit visa will not be able to enter the Middle East countries while the ban is in place.

According to the DFA, only those holding diplomatic and UN passport holders, individuals with work or residency permits, those with special permission by the foreign government and those traveling for essential purposes, such as a medical emergency, will be allowed to travel. Check out the full list here. ICA/Expat Media


New system for expats to get ‘instant approval’ to return to Dubai

New Dubai rules for arriving tourists starting July 7

Amnesty for visa violators in UAE: All you need to know

Extension for expired visas in UAE: All you need to know

For all the latest news from the UAE and the world, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram and subscribe to our YouTube page


ADVERTISE HERE Find or post new jobs, motor ads and classifieds

Explore Expat Media