Canada grants visa-free entry to Filipinos, Thais, Moroccans, 10 other countries

Estimated read time 2 min read


Canada is now granting visa-free entry to Filipinos, Thais, Moroccans and nationals from 10 other countries wanting to visit the country for business or leisure travel.

The new rule on visa-free entry came after Canada recently expanded its Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) program to cover eligible travelers from 13 countries. The countries on the list are Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Costa Rica, Morocco, Panama, Philippines, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Seychelles, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, and Uruguay.

The visa-free entry is effective immediately. It applies to eligible passport holders who have received a Canadian visitor’s visa in the last 10 years, or a valid US non-immigrant visa. Eligible travelers will only need to apply for an eTA instead of a visa.

Eligible travelers can visit Canada for up to six months for either business or leisure, according to the Canadian Embassy in Manila.

“Canada is a destination of choice for so many around the world. We’re making it easier for more people to visit Canada, whether they’re coming to do business, sightsee, or reunite with family and friends,” said Canadian Foreign Minister Mélanie Joly.

How to apply for visa-free entry to Canada

Applicants can go to and pay 7 Canadian dollars. Applications are received within minutes. Applicants must have a valid passport, a credit card or a debit card, an email address, and answer a few questions in the online application.

Those who are not eligible for an eTA, or who are traveling to Canada by car, bus, train or boat, will be required to get a visitor visa. ICA/Expat Media

For all the latest news from the UAE and the world, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram and subscribe to our YouTube page

You May Also Like

More Stories

+ There are no comments

Add yours